Home Company Profiles Adani Power Limited | APL

Adani Power Limited | APL


Adani Power Limited (APL) is India’s largest private sector thermal power producer with an overall generation capacity of 12.4 GW, which includes 40 MW of solar power. A part of the diversified Adani Group, The Company have thermal power plants in Gujarat, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh and a solar power unit in Bitta, Gujarat.

APJL, a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Company, is currently developing a 1,600 MW green field, ultra-supercritical power project in Jharkhand for supplying power to Bangladesh. The Company sells power
generated from these projects under a combination of long term Power Purchase Agreements (PPA), short
term PPA and on merchant basis.

Adani Power Limited

The Company journey began in 2006 when It started constructing the first plant in Mundra, Gujarat. Adani Power Ltd is owned by Adani Group which is one of the leading business groups in India.

APL has built and operates through its wholly owned subsidiaries 9,240 MW of thermal power capacity, including a 4,620 MW plant of APMuL at Mundra in Gujarat, a 3,300 MW plant of APML at Tiroda in Maharashtra, and a 1,320 MW plant of APRL at Kawai in Rajasthan

List of Companies owned by Adani Group

Adani Ports Financial

As part of its inorganic growth strategy, APL plans to enhance its existing capacity by way of acquisition of the following two entities, for which it has submitted Resolution Plans, in the ensuing FY 2019-20:

1) 600 MW power plant of Korba West Power Company Ltd. (KWPCL), and

2) 1370 MW supercritical power plant of GMR Chhattisgarh Energy Ltd. (GCEL)

List of plant Location of Adani Power Limited

The following are the list of Plant Location

  • (i) Solar Power Plant at Bitta, Kutch, Gujarat; and
  • (ii) Thermal Power Plants at Mundra,Gujarat;
  • (iii) Tiroda, Maharashtra;
  • (iv) Kawai, Rajasthan;
  • (v) Udupi, Karnataka
  • (VI) Raikheda, Chhattisgarh; and
  • (Vii) Raigarh, Chhattisgarh.

Vneet S Jaain CEO

CEO Adani Power

Gautam Adani Chairman and Owner

Mr. Gautam Adani, the Chairman and Founder of the Adani Group, has more than 36 years of business experience. Under his leadership, Adani Group has emerged as a global integrated infrastructure player with interest across Resources, Logistics and Energy verticals.
Mr. Adani’s success story is extraordinary in many ways. His journey has been marked by his ambitious and entrepreneurial vision, coupled with great vigour and hard work. This has not only enabled the Group to achieve numerous milestones but also resulted in creation of a robust business model which is contributing towards building sound infrastructure in India.

Key Subsidiaries Of Adani Power Ltd

The following are the key subsidiaries of Adani Power Ltd.

Adani Power (Mundra) Limited (APMuL)

This is the world’s largest private single location coal-based power project. The Mundra (4,620 MW) power plant consists of nine units developed in a compact area, exhibiting the lowest area taken up among coal-based power plant installations in the country. The plant supplies electricity to Gujarat distribution companies (Discoms) under long-term Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs) totaling 2,434 MW and Haryana Discoms under long-term PPAs for 1,424 MW.

Adani Power Maharashtra Limited (APML)

The plant runs mainly on domestic coal and operates a unique Rail Under Rail system, which is the first of its kind in the power sector. The plant also has the distinction of being located closest to domestic coal mines in Maharashtra, thus achieving a competitive variable cost of operations. The plant sells its power to the Maharashtra Discom under long-term PPAs.

Adani Power (Mundra) Limited (APMuL)

Adani Power Rajasthan Limited

This is the largest thermal power generation plant in Rajasthan at a single location, operating on Supercritical technology. It is designed to operate on domestic coal. The plant has implemented a Quality Management System (ISO 9001: 2008), Environmental Management System (ISO 14001: 2004), and the Occupational Health and Safety Management System (OHSAS 18001: 2007). The plant sells its power to Rajasthan Discoms under long-term PPAs.

Udupi Power Corporation Limited

The plant is situated in the village of Yellur between Mangalore and Udupi in the western coastal region of India. It was the first independent power project (IPP) in the country to use 100% of imported coal as fuel. This plant supplies the power it generates to Karnataka.

Adani Power Rajasthan Limited

Bitta Solar Power Plant

It was commissioned in a record time of 165 days. The solar power plant uses Solar PV Technology and has over 400,000 Solar PV modules mounted on 21,600 structures, which are erected on 130,000 foundations. When commissioned, the Bitta Solar Power Plant was the largest solar PV installation in India.

Raipur Energen Limited [REL]

REL’s Power Plant has a total installed capacity of 1370 MW. PLF for the year was 52.40%.The REL’s Power
Plant contributed 1,155 Crore towards the total consolidated revenue and 172 Crore towards
the consolidated EBIDTA. REL had Rs 214 Crore comprehensive loss during the year.

Raigarh Energy Generation Limited [REGL]:

REGL’s Power Plant has a total installed capacity of 600 MW in Raigarh District, Chhattisgarh. PLF for the year was 12.20%.

Adani Power Subsidiaries List

The following are the List of subsidiaries of Adani Power Ltd

  1. Adani Power Maharashtra Limited
    Adani House, Nr. Mithakhali Six
    Roads, Navrangpura,
    Ahmedabad-380 009
    U40101GJ2007PLC050506 Subsidiary 100%.
  2. Adani Power Rajasthan Limited
    Adani House, Nr. Mithakhali Six
    Roads, Navrangpura,
    Ahmedabad-380 009
    U40104GJ2008PLC052743 Subsidiary 100%
  3. Udupi Power Corporation Limited
    No. 160, Om Chambers, 1st Main
    Road Sheshadripuram
    Near Total Gaz Pump,
    Bangalore – 560020
    U31909KA1996PLC019918 Subsidiary 100%
  4. Adani Power (Mundra) Limited
    Adani House, Nr. Mithakhali Six
    Roads, Navrangpura,
    Ahmedabad-380 009
    U40300GJ2015PLC082295 Subsidiary 100%
  5. Adani Power Resources Limited
    Adani House, Nr. Mithakhali Six
    Roads, Navrangpura,
    Ahmedabad-380 009
    U40100GJ2013PLC077749 Subsidiary 51%
  6. Adani Power (Jharkhand) Limited
    Adani House, Nr. Mithakhali Six
    Roads, Navrangpura,
    Ahmedabad-380 009
    U40100GJ2015PLC085448 Subsidiary 100%
  7. Adani Power Dahej Limited
    Adani House, Nr. Mithakhali Six
    Roads, Navrangpura,
    Ahmedabad-380 009
    U40100GJ2006PLC047672 Subsidiary 100%
  8. Pench Thermal Energy (MP) Limited
    (Formerly known as Adani Pench Power Limited)
    Adani House, Nr. Mithakhali Six
    Roads, Navrangpura,
    Ahmedabad-380 009
    U40100GJ2009PLC058171 Subsidiary 100%
  9. Kutchh Power Limited
    Adani House, Nr. Mithakhali Six
    Roads, Navrangpura,
    Ahmedabad-380 009
    U40100GJ2009PLC057562 Subsidiary 100% 2(87)
  10. Raigarh Energy Generation Limited
    (Formerly known as Korba West Power Company Limited)
    SKIP House, 25/1 Museum Road
    Bangalore, Karnataka – 560025
    U40102MP1995PLC009177 Subsidiary 100%
  11. Raipur Energen Limited
    (Formerly known as GMR Chhatishgarh Energy Limited)
    First Floor, E-122, Patel Nagar, City
    Centre, Site No.2, Gwalior, Madhya
    Pradesh – 474011
    U40108KA2008PLC047974 Subsidiary 100%

❤️ Thank ❤️ by sharing this article...❤️



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here