Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited (NSE: GUJTHEM | BSE: 506879)
Source: Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited Annual Report FY 2025-26 (Fiscal Year Ended March 31, 2026)
📋 Quick Facts: Company Snapshot
| Attribute | Disclosed Detail |
|---|---|
| Official Company Name | Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited |
| Corporate Identity Number (CIN) | L24230GJ1981PLC004878 |
| ISIN | INE942C01045 |
| NSE Symbol & BSE Scrip Code | NSE: GUJTHEM | BSE: 506879 |
| Date of Incorporation | December 11, 1981 |
| Registered Office | Plot No. 69-C, GIDC Industrial Estate, Vapi – 396 195, Dist. Valsad, Gujarat, India |
| Corporate Office | Themis House, 11/12 Udyog Nagar, S.V. Road, Goregaon (West), Mumbai – 400 104, Maharashtra, India |
| Telephone & Investor Contact | Tel: +91 22 67607080 / 0260-2430027 | E-mail: cfoassist@themismedicare.com / gtblmumbai@gtbl.in |
| Chairman | Dr. Dinesh S. Patel (Non-Executive Chairman) |
| Managing Director & CEO | Dr. Sachin D. Patel (Managing Director w.e.f. July 1, 2025) |
| Chief Financial Officer (CFO) | Mr. Krupesh Patel (w.e.f. April 1, 2026) / Mr. Bhavik Shah (upto March 31, 2026) |
| Company Secretary & Compliance Officer | Mr. Vineet Gawankar |
| Promoter & Holding Group | Pharmaceutical Business Group (India) Limited & Themis Medicare Limited |
| Industry / Sector Classification | Pharmaceuticals & Medicinal Chemicals (Bulk Drugs / APIs & Intermediates) |
| Total Workforce Strength | 228 Permanent Employees and 151 Workers (BRSR Disclosed) |
| Manufacturing Plants Count | 1 Manufacturing Facility (Vapi, Gujarat) |
| Administrative Offices Count | 1 Corporate Office (Mumbai, Maharashtra) |
| Markets Served | Domestic Indian Market (Supplies to Formulations Manufacturers) |
| Statutory Auditor | M/s. GMJ & Co., Chartered Accountants (FRN: 103429W) |
| Registrar and Share Transfer Agent (RTA) | MUFG Intime India Pvt. Ltd. (formerly Link Intime India Pvt. Ltd.) |
🏢 The Corporate Identity: Who They Are & Where They Came From
The Big Picture
Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited (GTBL) is an India-based biopharmaceutical manufacturer specializing in fermentation-derived pharmaceutical intermediates and Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients (APIs). Domiciled in India with manufacturing operations centered in Vapi, Gujarat, the company has transformed its legacy profile as a specialized contract fermentation provider into a forward-integrated bulk drug manufacturer.
During the fiscal year ended March 31, 2026, the company achieved commercial commissioning of its expanded fermentation infrastructure and brought its new synthetic and fermentation API production line online. These operational developments establish commercial-scale capabilities to service both domestic formulations producers and regulated overseas healthcare markets.
The Founders, Promoters & Their Legacy
The company operates under the promoter stewardship of Pharmaceutical Business Group (India) Limited and Themis Medicare Limited, steered by Non-Executive Chairman Dr. Dinesh S. Patel and Managing Director Dr. Sachin D. Patel. The leadership team has directed the firm toward specialized biotechnology niches, focusing on complex fermentation chemistry that possesses high barriers to entry.
Effective July 1, 2025, Dr. Sachin D. Patel was appointed as Managing Director for a five-year tenure, succeeding outgoing Chief Executive Officer Mr. Tapas Guha Thakurata to unify executive governance during an aggressive capital expenditure cycle.
- Promoter Holding Leadership: Promoters and promoter group entities hold an aggregate of 70.86% of total paid-up share capital as of March 31, 2026.
- Institutional Heritage: Strategic collaboration with Themis Medicare Limited provides operational integration across chemistry pipelines, regulatory technical know-how, and commercial manufacturing infrastructure.
The Journey: History & Evolution
Incorporated on December 11, 1981, under the Companies Act, Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited established its initial base in the GIDC Industrial Estate in Vapi, Valsad District, Gujarat. The company focused on technical biotechnology processes, establishing industrial fermentation blocks capable of delivering biopharmaceutical active inputs.
Over the decades, the business transitioned from primary fermentation batching to downstream extraction, purification, and multi-purpose chemical synthesis. In May 2025, the company officially commissioned its multi-purpose synthetic and fermentation-based API facility at Vapi, followed by an expansion of its fermentation vessel capacities from 450 KL to 990 KL.
The Corporate Umbrella
As of March 31, 2026, Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited did not have any operating subsidiaries, joint ventures, or associate companies, reporting all statutory figures on a standalone basis. However, subsequent corporate actions executed in the first quarter of fiscal year 2026-27 established an overseas corporate structure to house major cross-border brand and corporate acquisitions.
- Themis Biosyn Japan Limited: Wholly owned subsidiary incorporated in Japan on May 19, 2026, established as the acquisition vehicle for MicroBiopharm Japan Co., Ltd.
- Themis Biosyn Ireland Private Limited: Wholly owned subsidiary incorporated in Ireland on May 29, 2026.
- Themis Biosyn Private Limited: Step-down wholly owned subsidiary incorporated on June 16, 2026, held under Themis Biosyn Ireland Private Limited.
⚙️ The Business Engine: What They Do & Where They Operate
The Core Divisions
Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited operates within a single reportable operating segment in accordance with Ind AS 108: the manufacture and sale of bulk drugs, intermediates, and associated contract manufacturing services. The business engine derives its primary turnover from bulk intermediates used in broad-spectrum antibacterial therapies.
| Operating Segment | Segment Revenue FY 2025-26 (₹ in Crores) | % Share of Total Revenue | Segment Revenue FY 2024-25 (₹ in Crores) | % Share of Total Revenue | Latest YoY (%) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bulk Drugs & Intermediates | 165.82 | 100.00% | 150.80 | 100.00% | +9.96% |
| Total Segment Revenue | 165.82 | 100.00% | 150.80 | 100.00% | +9.96% |
The Product & Service Catalog
The company’s commercial catalog centers on two core key starting materials and chemical intermediates, complemented by active pharmaceutical ingredients produced in the newly commissioned synthesis block:
- Rifamycin S: A critical fermentation intermediate utilized in the chemical synthesis of Rifampicin, a frontline antibiotic prescribed for the treatment of tuberculosis (TB), Mycobacterium avium complex, leprosy, and Legionnaires’ disease.
- Rifamycin O: An intermediate used to synthesize Rifaximin, an antibiotic for the treatment of traveler’s diarrhea, irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), and hepatic encephalopathy.
- Synthetic & Fermentation APIs: High-potency active pharmaceutical ingredients manufactured at the newly qualified multi-purpose Vapi facility for regulated formulations developers.
The Names You Know
Operating primarily as a business-to-business bulk drug producer during FY 2025-26, GTBL supplied intermediate compounds to formulations manufacturers rather than distributing retail-packaged formulations. Two prominent customers accounted for a combined turnover of ₹120.91 Crores in FY 2025-26 (comprising ₹97.57 Crores and ₹23.34 Crores respectively), representing over 72% of operational revenues.
In April 2026, the company entered into an Asset Purchase Agreement with French pharmaceutical company Sanofi to acquire a portfolio of 13 established pharmaceutical brands spanning anti-TB and anti-infective therapy sectors, alongside associated international trademark rights.
Mapping the Domestic & Global Reach
During the fiscal year ended March 31, 2026, 100% of commercial revenue from operations was billed within the Indian domestic market. The company did not record direct export revenues in FY 2025-26 or FY 2024-25, serving domestic customers who incorporate its active bulk materials into finished formulations destined for both Indian and international healthcare programs.
| Geographic Location of Customers | Revenue FY 2025-26 (₹ in Crores) | % Share of Total Revenue | Revenue FY 2024-25 (₹ in Crores) | % Share of Total Revenue | Latest YoY (%) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| India (Domestic Market) | 165.81 | 100.00% | 150.72 | 100.00% | +10.01% |
| Outside India (Direct Exports) | 0.00 | 0.00% | 0.00 | 0.00% | N/M |
| Total Gross Product Revenue | 165.81 | 100.00% | 150.72 | 100.00% | +10.01% |
The Brick & Mortar Footprint
The manufacturing operations of Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited are situated at Plot No. 69/C, GIDC Industrial Estate, Vapi, District Valsad, Gujarat. Administrative and board governance functions are based out of Themis House in Goregaon (West), Mumbai.
- Fermentation Capacity Augmentation: Total fermentation vessel capacity at the Vapi manufacturing site expanded from 450 KL to 990 KL during the year, more than doubling biological reaction capacity.
- New Multi-Purpose API Facility: Capital investments exceeding ₹200 Crores commissioned in May 2025, providing synthetic chemistry lines, cleanroom finishing, and validation batches.
- Captive Hybrid Renewable Power Site: Establishing a wind-and-solar hybrid power generation facility near Rajkot, Gujarat, designed to provide off-grid captive electricity to reduce manufacturing utility costs.
📊 The Financial Health: The Numbers Simplified
Multi-Year Financial Highlights (₹ in Crores)
| Metric | FY 2025-26 | FY 2024-25 | FY 2023-24 | Latest YoY (%) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue from Operations | 165.82 | 150.80 | 148.91 | +9.96% |
| Total Income | 168.25 | 153.23 | 151.78 | +9.80% |
| EBITDA | 75.53 | 68.84 | 67.20 | +9.72% |
| Profit Before Tax | 62.09 | 65.54 | 63.50 | -5.26% |
| Profit After Tax (PAT) | 46.68 | 48.87 | 47.50 | -4.48% |
| Net Cash from Operating Activities | Not Disclosed in Excerpt | Not Disclosed in Excerpt | Not Disclosed in Excerpt | – |
| Operating Cash Flow | Not Disclosed in Excerpt | Not Disclosed in Excerpt | Not Disclosed in Excerpt | – |
| Total Net Worth | 287.86 | 248.38 | 200.52 | +15.89% |
Earnings, Expenses, & Take-Home Profits
The Statement of Profit and Loss demonstrates solid operational growth offset by temporary margin pressure resulting from the operationalization of new plant assets. Total income climbed 9.80% to ₹168.25 Crores in FY 2025-26, driven by continuous demand for Rifamycin intermediates and initial volume scaling from the newly commissioned API line.
Operating expenditure expanded due to fixed overhead absorption, higher headcount, and facility maintenance, alongside an increase in depreciation charges from ₹5.37 Crores to ₹12.92 Crores as newly capitalized assets were brought into service. Finance costs rose to ₹2.95 Crores following the conclusion of project-phase interest capitalization. Consequently, Net Profit After Tax contracted modestly by 4.29% to ₹46.68 Crores.
| Statement of Profit and Loss Line Items | FY 2025-26 (₹ in Crores) | FY 2024-25 (₹ in Crores) | Latest YoY (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| I. Income | |||
| Revenue from Operations | 165.82 | 150.80 | +9.96% |
| Other Income | 2.43 | 2.43 | 0.00% |
| Total Income (I) | 168.25 | 153.23 | +9.80% |
| II. Expenses | |||
| Cost of Materials Consumed | 30.43 | 25.78 | +18.04% |
| Changes in Inventories of Finished Goods, Stock-in-Trade and Work-in-Process | (9.03) | (1.27) | +611.02% |
| Employee Benefits Expense | 16.51 | 12.64 | +30.62% |
| Finance Costs | 2.95 | 0.36 | +719.44% |
| Depreciation and Amortisation Expense | 12.92 | 5.37 | +140.60% |
| Other Expenses | 52.38 | 44.81 | +16.89% |
| Total Expenses (II) | 106.16 | 87.69 | +21.06% |
| Profit Before Tax | 62.09 | 65.54 | -5.26% |
| III. Tax Expense | |||
| Current Tax | 10.79 | 16.70 | -35.39% |
| Deferred Tax | 4.62 | 0.28 | +1550.00% |
| Adjustment of Tax Relating to Earlier Periods | 0.00 | (0.21) | -100.00% |
| Profit After Tax (PAT) | 46.68 | 48.77 | -4.29% |
| IV. Other Comprehensive Income | |||
| Remeasurement of Defined Benefit Plans (Net of Tax) | 0.01 | 0.05 | -80.00% |
| Total Comprehensive Income for the Year | 46.69 | 48.82 | -4.36% |
Assets, Borrowings, & Net Worth
The balance sheet structure reflects substantial capital deployment. Property, Plant and Equipment expanded to ₹286.92 Crores following the transfer and capitalization of ₹256.67 Crores out of Capital Work-in-Progress (CWIP) as civil structures, synthetic API reactor lines, and fermentation vessels became operational.
To fund its expansion program, GTBL utilized secured project term loan facilities alongside internal cash accruals. Long-term secured bank borrowings stood at ₹128.06 Crores, shifting the company’s debt-to-equity ratio to 0.56 from 0.12 in the preceding year. Current assets grew to ₹88.78 Crores, led by increased trade receivables of ₹60.92 Crores and strategic inventory build-ups across semi-finished goods and active ingredients.
| Balance Sheet Line Items | As at March 31, 2026 (₹ in Crores) | As at March 31, 2025 (₹ in Crores) | Latest YoY (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ASSETS | |||
| Non-Current Assets | |||
| Property, Plant and Equipment | 286.92 | 40.58 | +607.05% |
| Capital Work-in-Progress | 121.13 | 184.41 | -34.31% |
| Right-of-Use Assets | 1.96 | 0.54 | +262.96% |
| Other Intangible Assets | 0.10 | 0.16 | -37.50% |
| Financial Assets: Loans | 0.75 | 0.75 | 0.00% |
| Financial Assets: Other Financial Assets | 0.93 | 1.62 | -42.59% |
| Other Non-Current Assets | 2.85 | 21.27 | -86.60% |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 414.64 | 249.33 | +66.30% |
| Current Assets | |||
| Inventories | 15.42 | 5.05 | +205.35% |
| Trade Receivables | 60.92 | 31.24 | +95.01% |
| Cash and Cash Equivalents | 3.12 | 11.69 | -73.31% |
| Bank Balances Other Than Cash and Cash Equivalents | 2.97 | 0.85 | +249.41% |
| Financial Assets: Loans | 0.01 | 0.00 | N/M |
| Financial Assets: Other Financial Assets | 0.33 | 0.99 | -66.67% |
| Other Current Assets | 6.02 | 2.14 | +181.31% |
| Total Current Assets | 88.78 | 51.97 | +70.83% |
| Total Assets | 503.43 | 301.31 | +67.08% |
| EQUITY AND LIABILITIES | |||
| Equity | |||
| Equity Share Capital | 10.90 | 10.90 | 0.00% |
| Other Equity | 276.87 | 237.49 | +16.58% |
| Total Equity | 287.77 | 248.38 | +15.86% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | |||
| Non-Current Borrowings | 128.06 | 29.64 | +332.05% |
| Lease Liabilities | 0.65 | 0.00 | N/M |
| Deferred Tax Liabilities (Net) | 6.59 | 1.96 | +236.22% |
| Provisions | 1.21 | 0.77 | +57.14% |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 136.51 | 32.37 | +321.72% |
| Current Liabilities | |||
| Current Borrowings | 31.80 | 0.25 | +12620.00% |
| Lease Liabilities | 1.30 | 0.58 | +124.14% |
| Trade Payables | 36.65 | 14.65 | +150.17% |
| Other Financial Liabilities | 5.89 | 4.28 | +37.62% |
| Other Current Liabilities | 3.05 | 0.51 | +498.04% |
| Provisions | 0.31 | 0.28 | +10.71% |
| Current Tax Liability (Net) | 0.14 | 0.00 | N/M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 79.15 | 20.56 | +284.97% |
| TOTAL EQUITY AND LIABILITIES | 503.43 | 301.31 | +67.08% |
Cash Flow: Tracking the Money Movement
While the formal Statement of Cash Flows was omitted from this filing excerpt, the Management Discussion & Analysis confirms that operating cash flows remained healthy and adequate to comfortably service corporate debt obligations. Disclosures under Note 14 (Net Borrowings Reconciliation) delineate the net financing cash flow activities of the company across the fiscal years ended March 31, 2026, and March 31, 2025.
| Cash Flow & Financing Activities | FY 2025-26 (₹ in Crores) | FY 2024-25 (₹ in Crores) | Latest YoY (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Net Cash from Operating Activities | Not Disclosed in Excerpt | Not Disclosed in Excerpt | – |
| Operating Cash Flow | Not Disclosed in Excerpt | Not Disclosed in Excerpt | – |
| Cash Inflow from Long-Term Borrowings | 118.29 | 30.07 | +293.38% |
| Cash Inflow from Short-Term Borrowings | 14.94 | 267.83 | -94.42% |
| Repayment of Long-Term Borrowings (Outflow) | (3.00) | (0.18) | +1566.67% |
| Repayment of Short-Term Borrowings (Outflow) | (0.25) | (269.01) | -99.91% |
| Interest Paid on Long-Term Debt | (7.64) | (0.28) | +2628.57% |
| Interest Paid on Short-Term Debt | (0.12) | (0.00) | N/M |
| Dividends Paid to Equity Shareholders | (7.30) | (1.82) | +301.10% |
Funding the Future: CapEx, CWIP & R&D Spending
During the year under review, capital expenditure capitalized into Property, Plant and Equipment reached ₹257.93 Crores, led by ₹194.35 Crores in plant and equipment additions and ₹61.51 Crores in factory buildings. Outstanding Capital Work-in-Progress as of March 31, 2026, totaled ₹121.13 Crores, of which ₹91.89 Crores is allocated toward Project 6 (hybrid renewable power infrastructure) and ₹14.59 Crores toward Project 4.
Research and development operations focused on bioprocess optimization and biocatalysis technology. The company deployed USD 144,445 during the year toward technology absorption for Carbonyl Reductase enzyme processes utilized in API synthesis, alongside routine developmental revenue expenditure.
🗺️ The Corporate Family Tree: Structure & Investments
Subsidiaries, Associates, & Joint Ventures (Form AOC-1)
During the financial year ended March 31, 2026, Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited operated as a standalone company without active subsidiaries, joint ventures, or associate concerns. Subsequent to the close of the financial year, the company incorporated three offshore entities to facilitate global acquisitions.
| Entity Name | Relationship | Country of Incorporation | Incorporation Date | % Equity Shareholding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Themis Biosyn Japan Limited | Wholly Owned Subsidiary | Japan | May 19, 2026 | 100.00% |
| Themis Biosyn Ireland Private Limited | Wholly Owned Subsidiary | Ireland | May 29, 2026 | 100.00% |
| Themis Biosyn Private Limited | Step-Down Wholly Owned Subsidiary | Ireland | June 16, 2026 | 100.00% |
Strategic Investments & Treasury Holdings
Non-current balance sheet assets include Inter-Corporate Deposits of ₹0.75 Crores held under non-current financial assets as of March 31, 2026. The company held no investments in marketable equity shares, debt mutual funds, or commercial paper as of the reporting date, concentrating treasury resources on operational cash requirements.
👥 Power & Control: Who Pulls the Strings?
The Brain Trust: Board of Directors & Key Managerial Personnel (KMP)
The governance structure of Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited comprises seven board members, supported by an executive leadership team overseeeing corporate legal, operational, and financial compliance.
| Name of Director / KMP | Designation / Role | DIN | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dr. Dinesh S. Patel | Chairman | 00033273 | Non-Executive Promoter Director |
| Dr. Sachin D. Patel | Managing Director (w.e.f. July 1, 2025) | 00033353 | Executive Promoter Director |
| Ms. Kirandeep Kaur Madan | Director | 00686547 | Non-Executive Independent Woman Director |
| Mr. Hitesh Dharamsinh Gajaria | Director | 10044310 | Non-Executive Independent Director |
| Mr. Kumarapuram Gopalakrishnan Ananthakrishnan | Director | 00019325 | Non-Executive Independent Director |
| Mr. Nihar Ajay Parikh | Director (w.e.f. August 1, 2025) | 02475787 | Non-Executive Independent Director |
| Mr. Rajneesh Kedarnath Anand | Director (w.e.f. November 10, 2025) | 00134856 | Non-Executive Non-Independent Director |
| Mr. Krupesh Patel | Chief Financial Officer (w.e.f. April 1, 2026) | – | Key Managerial Personnel |
| Mr. Bhavik Shah | Chief Financial Officer (upto March 31, 2026) | – | Key Managerial Personnel |
| Mr. Vineet Gawankar | Company Secretary & Compliance Officer | – | Key Managerial Personnel |
Who Owns the Stock? Shareholding Pattern
The company’s equity capital consists of 10,89,65,265 fully paid-up equity shares of face value ₹1 each. As of March 31, 2026, promoter entities maintained majority control, while public retail shareholders held the balance of shares.
| Shareholder Category / Entity Name | Number of Shares Held | % Shareholding of Total Equity |
|---|---|---|
| Promoters & Promoter Group | ||
| Pharmaceutical Business Group [India] Limited | 5,12,40,000 | 47.02% |
| Themis Medicare Limited | 2,52,72,037 | 23.19% |
| Vividhmargi Trust | 6,60,302 | 0.60% |
| Anay Rupen Choksi | 22,852 | 0.02% |
| Nysha Rupen Choksi | 22,852 | 0.02% |
| Jayshree D. Patel | 10 | 0.00% |
| Sachin Dinesh Patel | 10 | 0.00% |
| Reena S. Patel | 10 | 0.00% |
| Dinesh Shantilal Patel | 10 | 0.00% |
| Total Promoter & Promoter Group Holding | 7,72,18,083 | 70.86% |
| Public & Other Non-Promoter Shareholders | ||
| Public Shareholders (Retail, Bodies Corporate, Others) | 3,17,47,182 | 29.14% |
| Total Public & Non-Promoter Holding | 3,17,47,182 | 29.14% |
| Total Equity Shares Outstanding | 10,89,65,265 | 100.00% |
🎯 The Strategic Outlook: Future Plans & Potential Pitfalls
Competitive Advantages & Economic Moats
The manufacturing capabilities of Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited are grounded in industrial precision fermentation, an area of chemical manufacturing with high technical barriers to entry. Large-scale microbial culturing requires proprietary biological strains, strict contamination controls, specialized equipment, and custom downstream purification lines.
- Substantial Reaction Capacity: With fermentation capacity expanded to 990 KL, GTBL operates one of India’s larger standalone industrial fermentation setups, creating unit economies of scale.
- Forward API Integration: The operationalization of the multi-purpose synthetic facility allows the business to convert crude fermentation broths directly into refined bulk APIs on-site.
- Energy Cost Optimization: Construction of a captive wind-and-solar hybrid power project in Rajkot (Gujarat) directly targets electricity expenses, which totaled ₹24.59 Crores in FY 2025-26.
What Could Go Wrong? Key Challenges & Business Risks
Despite its technical niche, GTBL’s operating model faces external risks that could impact financial results:
- Customer Concentration Risk: In FY 2025-26, two primary customers generated ₹120.91 Crores (over 72% of operational revenues). Any delivery adjustments from these partners would affect turnover.
- Global Competition: Chinese bulk drug and fermentation competitors operate with substantial state subsidies and scale, maintaining pricing pressure on key antibiotic intermediate molecules.
- Working Capital Stretch: Debtor turnover expanded from 70.51 days in FY 2024-25 to 101.42 days in FY 2025-26, while trade receivables doubled to ₹60.92 Crores, increasing short-term working capital requirements.
- Leverage and Debt Service: Total debt increased to ₹159.87 Crores as of March 31, 2026, lifting the debt-equity ratio to 0.56 from 0.12 and requiring higher annual debt servicing.
The Next Chapter: Growth & CapEx Initiatives
Subsequent to the close of FY 2025-26, the company entered into two definitive international asset agreements:
On April 23, 2026, GTBL executed an Asset Purchase Agreement with Sanofi to acquire a portfolio of 13 established brands in the anti-TB and anti-infective segments, along with related trademark assets, for a consideration of EUR 158 million. This acquisition provides commercial distribution reach across more than 55 countries in Europe, the Middle East, and Africa.
On May 22, 2026, the company executed definitive agreements to acquire 100% equity shareholding in MicroBiopharm Japan Co., Ltd. (MBJ) for JPY 21.5 billion (approximately ₹1,300 Crore) through Themis Biosyn Japan Limited. MBJ operates three manufacturing sites and brings technical platforms in precision fermentation, antibody-drug conjugates (ADCs), peptides, plasmids, and enzyme engineering.
The Verdict: Strategic Outlook & Conclusion
Gujarat Themis Biosyn Limited concluded FY 2025-26 having completed the primary execution phase of its domestic capacity augmentation. With expanded fermentation capacity of 990 KL and an active multi-purpose API unit at Vapi, the company is positioned to move up the value chain from chemical intermediates to finished APIs.
While the absorption of new plant fixed overheads, higher finance expenses, and working capital cycles moderated net profitability in FY 2025-26, the subsequent acquisition of Sanofi’s brand portfolio and MicroBiopharm Japan Co., Ltd. signals an ambitious evolution into a global contract development and manufacturing organization (CDMO) with international market reach.
Note: Financial ratios, margins, YoY growth percentages, and % revenue shares are calculated by IndianCompanies.in based on disclosed Ind AS financial statements.
Official Site: https://www.gtbl.in